Same Car, Different Features – Understanding Car Trims!

Same Car, Different Features – Understanding Car Trims!

When buying a car, there are many options to choose from. For a better word, these options are termed car trim levels. One of the most important decisions you’ll make when buying a new car is what trim level to choose. It’s the name for the different levels of packages and options available on a car. Each manufacturer has its naming convention, but they all mean the same thing. This post will explain trim levels: what they are, how they work, and which one you should get!


Multiple Trim Levels – What are They?


Most cars these days come in multiple trim levels. The base level is usually the most basic model with the fewest bells and whistles. As you move up the levels, you’ll get more and more features and options. The top-of-the-line trim is usually the most expensive, but it’s also got all the bells and whistles that the manufacturer offers.


How Many Trims?

There are usually four or five different trim levels available for each car model. They can go up to 10 for some models. The base level is usually the most affordable, while the top-of-the-line trim is usually the most expensive. In between, there are a few different options that offer a mix of features and prices.


Understanding Accessory Packages

Manufacturers also offer accessory packages that group together certain features. For example, you might get a navigation package and a premium sound system. These accessory packages can usually be added to any trim level. Trims levels are built-in, and you can’t modify them. However, accessory packages allow you to customize your car to your specific needs and wants.


How Do Trim Levels Get Their Name?

The manufacturer names trim levels. Sometimes, they’re named after a specific feature or set of included features. For example, a “sport” trim might include performance-enhancing features like a more powerful engine and upgraded brakes. Other times, manufacturers use letters or numbers (or both).


What Does This Mean for You?

When you’re car shopping, it’s important to pay attention to the trim levels. The standard features on one trim level might not be available on another. For example, if you’re looking at two different cars and one has a higher trim level than the other, the higher trim will have more features.


How to Choose a Trim Level?

Of course, you don’t always have to choose the highest trim level. You can choose a lower trim level and add on the individual accessory options.


If you can’t decide which trim level is right for you, the best thing to do is talk to your Ford dealer. A dealership can answer any questions you have and help you make the best decision for your needs.


When buying a new car, there are countless reasons to consider a visit to Lakeland Ford, serving Bartow, FL. We offer a large selection of new cars, trucks,& SUVs at competitive pricing. Our sales staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and we’re happy to answer any questions you may have. We also accommodate autos financing and extended warranties, so you can be sure you’re getting the best deal possible.


Purchase a new car with confidence!


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Find Your Next Vehicle

search by model, color, options, or anything else...